Hytrel 6356: specs and equivalent grades
Celanese copolyester elastomer (TPC-ET), nominal 63D, for injection molding and extrusion. Published data from the current Celanese sheet, grades to ask about, and how to request a quote from one gaylord.
Request a QuoteThe short answer
Hytrel 6356 is a Celanese thermoplastic polyester elastomer, polyether-ester type (TPC-ET), unfilled, with a nominal hardness of 63D and a non-discoloring stabilizer. Celanese says it can be processed by injection molding and extrusion and lists hose and tubing, mandrels, wire and cable, film, profiles, seals, gears, sprockets, fuel tanks and containers among typical uses. The current sheet (revised 2026-08-12) gives MFR 9 g/10 min at 230°C, 2.16 kg (ISO 1133), density 1.22 g/cm³, flexural modulus 290 MPa and a melting point of 210°C. Hardness is Shore D 57 on a 15 second reading and 63 as the maximum reading. These are typical values; confirm them on the current producer data sheet. The closest grades to ask about are Celanese’s Hytrel 6359FG NC010 (food contact) and the black Hytrel 6356 BK203. No grade is a drop-in replacement.
Also written as: Hytrel 6356 TPC-ET, Hytrel 6356 natural. Hytrel was a DuPont brand until Celanese bought most of DuPont Mobility & Materials in 2022, so older drawings and bag labels may say DuPont. Black versions are sold under their own grade codes (for example Hytrel 6356 BK203) with their own data sheets. Quote the full grade and color code from your drawing or bag label.
Buying Hytrel 6356: one gaylord to a railcar · supplier COA on every prime lot · ships from 22+ partner warehouse locations · a polymer chemist reviews every request · we aim to quote within 1–3 business days
Have a part number or drawing callout?
Paste it as written. A polymer chemist will tell you which grade it calls for, suggest equivalents and quote it by email.
Hytrel 6356 specs from the data sheet
Typical values from Celanese’s Hytrel 6356 data sheets (SI and US units, Celanese Materials Database, revised 2026-08-12) for natural material. Typical values are not specifications; the lot COA shows what you actually receive. Values only compare at the same test method and condition. Values for black or food-contact versions are not mixed in here; see the equivalents table.
| Property | Value | Test method or note |
|---|---|---|
| Producer (brand owner) | Celanese | Data sheet revised 2026-08-12 (Celanese Materials Database). Formerly a DuPont brand |
| Polymer | Thermoplastic polyester elastomer, polyether-ester type (TPC-ET), unfilled, nominal 63D, medium modulus; contains non-discoloring stabilizer | ISO 1043 resin identification TPC-ET. Celanese lists natural as the standard color |
| Process | Injection molding, extrusion, film, sheet and other extrusion, casting, thermoforming | As listed on the sheet |
| Melt flow | MFR 9 g/10 min; MVR 8.5 cm³/10 min | ISO 1133, 230°C / 446°F, 2.16 kg. Hytrel 5526 is measured at 220°C, so the numbers do not compare directly |
| Density | 1.22 g/cm³ (1,220 kg/m³; 0.044 lb/in³) | ISO 1183 |
| Mold shrinkage, parallel / normal | 1.5 % / 1.5 % | ISO 294-4, 2577 |
| Hardness | Shore D 57 (15 second reading); 63 maximum reading; Celanese calls the nominal hardness 63D | ISO 48-4 / ISO 868. Arnitel sheets use a 3 second reading, so do not compare directly |
| Tensile modulus | 280 MPa (40,600 psi) | ISO 527-1/-2 |
| Tensile stress / strain at yield | 20 MPa (2,900 psi) / 31 % | ISO 527-1/-2 |
| Tensile stress at break / nominal strain at break | 43 MPa (6,240 psi) / 500 % | ISO 527-1/-2 |
| Flexural modulus | 290 MPa (42,100 psi) | ISO 178 |
| Charpy notched impact | 120 kJ/m² at 23°C (partial break); 25 kJ/m² at −30°C; 15 kJ/m² at −40°C | ISO 179/1eA |
| Izod notched impact | 81 kJ/m² at 23°C; 19 kJ/m² at −40°C | ISO 180/1A |
| Tear strength, parallel / normal | 160 kN/m / 140 kN/m | ISO 34-1 |
| Abrasion resistance | 110 mm³ | ISO 4649 |
| Brittleness temperature | −96°C (−141°F) | ISO 974 |
| Melting temperature | 210°C (410°F) | ISO 11357-1/-3, 10°C/min |
| Glass transition temperature | −5°C | ISO 6721, 1 Hz |
| HDT 1.8 MPa / 0.45 MPa | 45°C (113°F) / 80°C (176°F) | ISO 75-1/-2 |
| Vicat softening temperature | 100°C (50 N); 195°C (10 N) | ISO 306, 50°C/h |
| UL 94 flame rating | HB at 1.5 mm and 3 mm, UL recognized | UL 94 / IEC 60695-11-10 |
| Relative thermal index | 85°C electrical and impact; 75°C strength at 1.5 mm, 80°C strength at 3.0 mm | UL 746B |
| Water absorption | 0.5 % (immersion 24 h); 0.6 % (2 mm); humidity absorption 0.2 % | Similar to ISO 62 |
| Drying | Injection: 100°C / 212°F for 2–3 h, max moisture 0.08 %. Extrusion: 90–110°C for 2–3 h, max moisture 0.06 % | Dehumidifying dryer; producer processing data |
| Melt / mold temperature, injection | Melt 235–260°C, optimum 240°C (464°F); mold 35–46°C, optimum 45°C (113°F); hold pressure up to 70 MPa | Producer injection data |
| Melt temperature, extrusion | 225–240°C, optimum 230°C | Producer extrusion data |
| Automotive approvals listed | GM GMW17327P-TPC-ET-Type 4; Mercedes-Benz DBL5562 AA39 TPC and DBL5562.50 TPC; Stellantis-Chrysler MS-DB-448 / CPN-2198 and CPN-2270 (natural); VW 50123 TPC-ET 55D | As listed on the sheet, including the 55D wording on the VW line. Confirm the callout on your drawing |
| Food contact | Not stated for this grade | Celanese sells Hytrel 6359FG NC010 for food contact; see the equivalents table |
Source data sheets are listed at the bottom of this page. Confirm against the current sheet for your exact grade code and color.
Grades to ask about instead of Hytrel 6356
The closest options are Celanese’s own: Hytrel 6359FG NC010, a grade developed for food contact with the same published flow and similar hardness (Shore D 58 at 15 seconds, 63 max), and Hytrel 6356 BK203, the black UV-stabilized version. None is a drop-in replacement. If your part, drawing or customer approval names Hytrel 6356, any change needs that approval and usually a trial.
| Grade | Producer | Melt flow | Density | Key property | How it compares |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hytrel 6359FG NC010 | Celanese | MFR 9 g/10 min; MVR 8.5 cm³/10 min (230°C, 2.16 kg, ISO 1133) | 1.22 g/cm³ (ISO 1183) | Shore D 58 (15 second reading), 63 max; tensile modulus 260 MPa; tensile stress at break 41 MPa; melting point 211°C; Charpy notched −40°C 15 kJ/m² | Same published flow, density and hardness class. Celanese says it was developed for applications in contact with food, is made under GMP principles and is generally accepted for food contact in Europe and the USA when meeting applicable use conditions; individual compliance statements come from Celanese. Typical uses on its sheet are conveyor belts, tubing and containers. Its sheet (revision 2025-04-22) lists no automotive approvals and no UL 94 rating, so check both if your part needs them. Quote this alternative › |
| Hytrel 6356 BK203 | Celanese | MFR 8.5 g/10 min; MVR 8 cm³/10 min (230°C, 2.16 kg, ISO 1133) | 1.22 g/cm³ (ISO 1183) | Shore D 57 (15 second reading), 62 max; tensile modulus 300 MPa; tensile stress at break 40 MPa; nominal strain at break 600 %; melting point 208°C | Black with a UV stabilization package, so it is a color change, not a like-for-like swap for natural parts. Celanese’s Chemille listing shows Americas availability as restricted, so ask before you plan on it. Its sheet is revision 2025-04-17. Quote this alternative › |
From each producer’s published data; typical values, confirm on the current producer data sheet. Brand owners and grade names change.
Grades we looked at but did not list, because the flow is not close at the same test condition: Arnitel EM630 (Envalior, extrusion, food contact quality) has MVR 4 cm³/10 min at 230°C, 2.16 kg, about half of 6356’s 8.5. Arnitel EL630 (Envalior, injection molding, food contact quality) has MVR 28 cm³/10 min at the same condition, more than three times higher. Both read Shore D 60 and 59 on 3 second readings and melt at 212°C. Ask us if you want either quoted; treat them as new materials that need a full trial.
Typical uses for Hytrel 6356
Celanese lists these typical applications for Hytrel 6356:
- Hose and tubing, and mandrels
- Wire and cable
- Film and profiles
- Seals, gears and sprockets
- Fuel tanks and containers with good permeation resistance to gases and liquids
- Automotive parts covered by the approvals on the sheet (GM, Mercedes-Benz, Stellantis-Chrysler and VW specifications)
What to check before you switch
- Owner check: the current sheet is issued by Celanese. Older paperwork may say DuPont. Confirm on your quote who issues the COA and any compliance letters.
- Compare melt flow at the same temperature. Hytrel 6356 is tested at 230°C; Hytrel 5526 is tested at 220°C and Hytrel 4056 at 190°C.
- Compare hardness at the same reading time. Celanese reports Shore D at 15 seconds (57) and as a maximum (63). Arnitel sheets use a 3 second reading.
- Stepping down from 63D to 55D changes the part. Hytrel 5526 has a flexural modulus of 200 MPa against 290 MPa for 6356, and a lower melting point (203 vs 210°C).
- Molding and extrusion settings differ. The sheet gives 240°C optimum melt for injection and 230°C for extrusion, with tighter drying (0.06 % moisture) for extrusion. See our resin drying guide.
- Food contact needs the right grade. Hytrel 6356’s sheet makes no food contact statement; ask for the compliance statement for 6359FG NC010 if that is your use.
- Run a trial and check fill or draw-down, shrinkage (1.5 % on the sheet), low temperature impact, permeation and fluid resistance before you switch production.
Need a second source for Hytrel 6356?
Tell us why. A polymer chemist will reply with one to three alternatives, what differs, and what to test before you switch. Free.
Watch Hytrel 6356
Get a short email only if Hytrel 6356 changes owner, is renamed or discontinued, goes on allocation, gets a price increase, or when a matching surplus lot comes in. Free. Add your other grades too.
Buying Hytrel 6356: price, lead time and lot size
- Lot size. From one gaylord to a railcar. See gaylord, LTL and truckload for typical weights per box.
- Where it ships from. 22+ partner warehouse locations. Lead time is confirmed with your quote.
- Price. We do not publish prices because they move with feedstock, freight and order size. What moves your price most: lot size, natural versus black or a custom color, ship-to region, and whether you need Hytrel 6356 itself or can accept a matched alternative. See how resin is priced and the monthly market update.
- Paperwork. Supplier COA on every prime lot (what a COA shows). Ask for the producer’s compliance letters or UL file if your part needs them. Payment terms are confirmed with your quote.
- Trying an alternative? Samples (~50 lb) are available upon credit approval, or start with one gaylord as a trial lot. Custom compounding and color are available.
- If Hytrel 6356 itself is not available. If we cannot source it, we tell you, then quote a matched alternative with a side-by-side comparison.
Send the grade and color, your annual volume and ship-to location. A polymer chemist reviews every request before we quote. For several grades at once, use the resin RFQ template.
Trade names belong to their owners. ResinBridge is not affiliated with these producers; grade names are used only to identify the material. Data reflects published sheets as of November 2026.
Sources
- Celanese Hytrel 6356 data sheet, SI units (Celanese Materials Database, revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Celanese Hytrel 6356 data sheet, US units (Celanese Materials Database, revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Celanese Chemille grade page: Hytrel 6356 (description, standard color, approvals)
- Celanese Hytrel 6359FG NC010 data sheet, SI units (revised 2025-04-22, PDF)
- Celanese Chemille grade page: Hytrel 6359FG NC010
- Celanese Hytrel 6356 BK203 data sheet, SI units (revised 2025-04-17, PDF)
- Celanese Chemille grade page: Hytrel 6356 BK203 (regional availability)
- Celanese Hytrel 5526 data sheet, SI units (revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Celanese Hytrel 4056 data sheet, SI units (revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Envalior Arnitel EM630 property data (printed 2026-10-28, PDF)
- Envalior Arnitel EL630 property data (printed 2026-10-28, PDF)
- Celanese Hytrel product page (brand owner)
Common questions
What is Hytrel 6356?
Hytrel 6356 is a Celanese thermoplastic polyester elastomer, polyether-ester type (TPC-ET), medium modulus, with a nominal hardness of 63D and a non-discoloring stabilizer. Celanese says it can be injection molded and extruded, and lists hose, tubing, wire and cable, film, profiles, seals, gears, sprockets, fuel tanks and containers as typical uses. It was a DuPont brand until 2022.
What is the melt flow of Hytrel 6356?
MFR 9 g/10 min and MVR 8.5 cm³/10 min at 230°C, 2.16 kg (ISO 1133). Hytrel 5526 is measured at 220°C, so its 18 g/10 min does not compare directly. Typical values; confirm on the current producer data sheet.
What is the hardness of Hytrel 6356?
Celanese lists Shore D 57 on a 15 second reading and 63 as the maximum reading (ISO 48-4 / ISO 868), and calls the nominal hardness 63D. Readings at other dwell times, such as the 3 second readings on Arnitel sheets, are not directly comparable.
What is the difference between Hytrel 6356 and Hytrel 5526?
6356 is the harder, stiffer grade: nominal 63D vs 55D, flexural modulus 290 vs 200 MPa, density 1.22 vs 1.19 g/cm³ and melting point 210 vs 203°C. 6356 is listed for molding and extrusion; 5526 is aimed at high-flow injection molding. Their melt flow is tested at different temperatures (230°C vs 220°C), so those numbers do not compare directly.
What is equivalent to Hytrel 6356?
No grade is a drop-in replacement. The closest grades to ask about are Celanese’s Hytrel 6359FG NC010, a food-contact grade with the same published flow and similar hardness (Shore D 58 at 15 seconds, 63 max), and Hytrel 6356 BK203, the black UV-stabilized version. Arnitel EM630 and EL630 differ too much in flow at the same test condition to list. Compare data sheets, run a trial and get approval if your part names Hytrel 6356.
Is Hytrel 6356 UL listed or food contact compliant?
The sheet shows UL 94 HB recognition at 1.5 mm and 3 mm, and UL 746B relative thermal indices of 85°C for electrical and impact and 75–80°C for strength. It does not state food contact compliance for 6356. Celanese sells Hytrel 6359FG NC010 for food contact, with compliance statements from its representatives.
How do you dry and process Hytrel 6356?
For injection molding Celanese recommends drying at 100°C for 2–3 hours to 0.08 % moisture or less, melt at 235–260°C (240°C optimum) and mold at 35–46°C. For extrusion it gives drying at 90–110°C to 0.06 % moisture or less and a 225–240°C melt.
Can ResinBridge quote Hytrel 6356?
Yes. Send the grade, color and volume. A polymer chemist reviews every request, and we quote Hytrel 6356 where we can source it, or a matched alternative, and say which one. Orders start at one gaylord; U.S. and Canada only.
If your grade is not listed, tell us what you run. We source commodity, engineering and specialty resins.
Need Hytrel 6356 or an equivalent?
A polymer chemist reviews every request, then matches your grade or finds a matched alternative and prices it.
What to send for an accurate quote
- The grade name, from any supplier, or a data sheet
- Color (natural, black or a custom match)
- Fill type and percentage, if any
- Melt flow, if you know it
- Quantity for this order and what you use in a year
- Ship-to city and state or province
Quote Hytrel 6356 or a matched alternative
A polymer chemist checks the data sheet and tells you exactly what you would get before you order.
Request a QuoteNot sure which grade fits your part?
Send the grade you run now, or describe the part.
