Hytrel 5526: specs and equivalent grades
Celanese copolyester elastomer (TPC-ET), nominal 55D, built for high-flow injection molding. Published data from the current Celanese sheet, grades to ask about, and how to request a quote from one gaylord.
Request a QuoteThe short answer
Hytrel 5526 is a Celanese thermoplastic polyester elastomer, polyether-ester type (TPC-ET), unfilled, with a nominal hardness of 55D. Celanese says it is “specially recommended for injection molding applications requiring high flow properties” and lists seals, packing, gaskets, gears and bearings as typical uses. The current sheet (revised 2026-08-12) gives MFR 18 g/10 min at 220°C, 2.16 kg (ISO 1133), density 1.19 g/cm³, flexural modulus 200 MPa and a melting point of 203°C. Hardness is Shore D 51 on a 15 second reading and 55 as the maximum reading. These are typical values; confirm them on the current producer data sheet. The closest grade to ask about is the black version, Hytrel 5526 BK203. No grade is a drop-in replacement.
Also written as: Hytrel 5526 TPC-ET, Hytrel 5526 natural. Hytrel was a DuPont brand until Celanese bought most of DuPont Mobility & Materials in 2022, so older drawings and bag labels may say DuPont. The black, UV-stabilized version is sold as Hytrel 5526 BK203 and has its own data sheet with different values. Quote the full grade and color code from your drawing or bag label.
Buying Hytrel 5526: one gaylord to a railcar · supplier COA on every prime lot · ships from 22+ partner warehouse locations · a polymer chemist reviews every request · we aim to quote within 1–3 business days
Have a part number or drawing callout?
Paste it as written. A polymer chemist will tell you which grade it calls for, suggest equivalents and quote it by email.
Hytrel 5526 specs from the data sheet
Typical values from Celanese’s Hytrel 5526 data sheets (SI and US units, Celanese Materials Database, revised 2026-08-12) for natural material. Typical values are not specifications; the lot COA shows what you actually receive. Values only compare at the same test method and condition. Values for the black BK203 version are not mixed in here; see the equivalents table.
| Property | Value | Test method or note |
|---|---|---|
| Producer (brand owner) | Celanese | Data sheet revised 2026-08-12 (Celanese Materials Database). Formerly a DuPont brand |
| Polymer | Thermoplastic polyester elastomer, polyether-ester type (TPC-ET), unfilled, nominal 55D; contains non-discoloring stabilizer | ISO 1043 resin identification TPC-ET. Celanese lists natural as the standard color; custom colors on request |
| Process | Injection molding and thermoforming | Celanese recommends it for injection molding that needs high flow |
| Melt flow | MFR 18 g/10 min; MVR 18 cm³/10 min (SI sheet; the US sheet shows 17.5) | ISO 1133, 220°C / 428°F, 2.16 kg |
| Density | 1.19 g/cm³ (1,190 kg/m³; 0.043 lb/in³) | ISO 1183 |
| Mold shrinkage, parallel / normal | 1.4 % / 1.4 % | ISO 294-4, 2577 |
| Hardness | Shore D 51 (15 second reading); 55 maximum reading; Celanese calls the nominal hardness 55D | ISO 48-4 / ISO 868. Arnitel sheets use a 3 second reading, so do not compare directly |
| Tensile modulus | 190 MPa (27,600 psi) | ISO 527-1/-2 |
| Tensile stress / strain at yield | 15 MPa (2,180 psi) / 35 % | ISO 527-1/-2 |
| Tensile stress at break / nominal strain at break | 40 MPa (5,800 psi) / 780 % | ISO 527-1/-2 |
| Flexural modulus | 200 MPa (29,000 psi) | ISO 178 |
| Charpy notched impact | No break at 23°C; 150 kJ/m² at −30°C (partial break); 30 kJ/m² at −40°C | ISO 179/1eA |
| Izod notched impact, −40°C | 115 kJ/m² | ISO 180/1A |
| Tear strength, parallel / normal | 130 kN/m / 130 kN/m | ISO 34-1 |
| Abrasion resistance | 120 mm³ | ISO 4649 |
| Brittleness temperature | −98°C (−144°F) | ISO 974 |
| Melting temperature | 203°C (397°F) | ISO 11357-1/-3, 10°C/min |
| Glass transition temperature | −25°C | ISO 6721, 1 Hz |
| HDT 1.8 MPa / 0.45 MPa | 45°C (113°F) / 65°C (149°F) | ISO 75-1/-2 |
| Vicat softening temperature | 75°C (50 N); 180°C (10 N) | ISO 306, 50°C/h |
| UL 94 flame rating | HB at 1.5 mm and 3 mm, UL recognized | UL 94 / IEC 60695-11-10 |
| Relative thermal index | 85°C electrical and impact; 75°C strength at 1.5 mm, 80°C strength at 3.0 mm | UL 746B |
| Comparative tracking index | 600 | IEC 60112 |
| Water absorption | 0.6 % (2 mm; immersion 24 h); humidity absorption 0.2 % | Similar to ISO 62 |
| Drying | 100°C / 212°F for 2–3 h in a dehumidifying dryer; max moisture 0.08 % | Producer injection data |
| Melt / mold temperature | Melt 220–250°C, optimum 230°C (446°F); mold 45–55°C | Producer injection data. The table gives a 50°C (122°F) mold optimum; the sheet’s processing note gives 45°C |
| Automotive approvals listed | GM GMW17327P-TPC-ET-Type 3M1; Hyundai MS220-24 Type D; Mercedes-Benz DBL5562 AA39 TPC and DBL5562.50 TPC-ET; Stellantis-Chrysler MS-DB-448 / CPN-2232, CPN-2313 (black), CPN-4477 and CPN-4843; VW 50123 | As listed on the sheet. Some approvals are color specific |
| Food contact | Not stated for this grade | The family text says food contact grades exist within Hytrel; ask for a statement for the exact grade |
Source data sheets are listed at the bottom of this page. Confirm against the current sheet for your exact grade code and color.
Melt flow for Hytrel grades is not always measured at the same temperature. Hytrel 5526 and 5556 are tested at 220°C, Hytrel 6356 at 230°C and Hytrel 4056 at 190°C, so compare those numbers only with care.
Grades to ask about instead of Hytrel 5526
The closest option is Celanese’s own black version, Hytrel 5526 BK203. It is the same base grade with black pigment and a UV stabilization package, and its published flow is close at the same test condition. None is a drop-in replacement. If your part, drawing or customer approval names Hytrel 5526, any change needs that approval and usually a trial.
| Grade | Producer | Melt flow | Density | Key property | How it compares |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hytrel 5526 BK203 | Celanese | MFR 17 g/10 min (220°C, 2.16 kg, ISO 1133) | Not listed on its sheet | Shore D 52 (15 second reading), 55 max; flexural modulus 220 MPa; tensile stress at break 35 MPa; nominal strain at break 800 %; melting point 202°C | Black pigmented with a UV stabilization package, so it is a color change, not a like-for-like swap for natural parts. It is slightly stiffer on paper (220 vs 200 MPa flexural modulus) with lower break stress (35 vs 40 MPa). Its sheet is revision 2025-04-17. The CPN-2313 Stellantis approval on the 5526 sheet is marked black, so check which color your approval covers. Quote this alternative › |
From each producer’s published data; typical values, confirm on the current producer data sheet. Brand owners and grade names change.
Grades we looked at but did not list, because the flow is not close or cannot be compared: Hytrel 5556 (Celanese, also 55D, Shore D 51 at 15 s, density 1.19) has MFR 7.8 g/10 min at the same 220°C, 2.16 kg condition, less than half the flow of 5526. Celanese positions it for injection molding and extrusion of hose, tubing, wire and cable, film and belting. Arnitel EL550 (Envalior) is an injection-molding TPC-ET with Shore D 53 on a 3 second reading and a melting point of 207°C, but its flow is given as MVR 36 cm³/10 min at 230°C, so it cannot be compared with the 5526 figure at 220°C. Ask us if you want either quoted; treat them as new materials that need a full trial.
Typical uses for Hytrel 5526
Celanese lists these typical applications for Hytrel 5526 and recommends it for injection molding that needs high flow:
- Seals, packing and gaskets
- Gears and bearings
- Automotive parts covered by the approvals on the sheet (GM, Hyundai, Mercedes-Benz, Stellantis-Chrysler and VW specifications)
- Other markets named in Celanese’s Hytrel family text: fluid power, electrical/electronic, consumer goods, appliance and power tool, sporting goods, furniture, industrial and off-road equipment
What to check before you switch
- Owner check: the current sheet is issued by Celanese. Older paperwork may say DuPont. Confirm on your quote who issues the COA and any compliance letters.
- Color matters. Natural 5526 and black 5526 BK203 have separate sheets and different values, and at least one automotive approval on the 5526 sheet is color specific.
- Compare hardness at the same reading time. Celanese reports Shore D at 15 seconds (51) and as a maximum (55). Arnitel sheets use a 3 second reading.
- Compare melt flow at the same temperature. Hytrel 5526 is measured at 220°C; Hytrel 6356 and the Arnitel grades named on this page are reported at 230°C.
- Dry it. The sheet asks for 100°C for 2–3 hours and 0.08 % maximum moisture. Copolyester elastomers can degrade if molded wet. See our resin drying guide.
- Moving from a softer grade such as Hytrel 4056? It is a different material: 40D nominal, flexural modulus 60 MPa and a 152°C melting point, so parts, tools and settings will not carry over.
- Run a trial lot and check fill, shrinkage (1.4 % on the sheet), seal or gear performance, low temperature impact and fluid resistance before you switch production.
Need a second source for Hytrel 5526?
Tell us why. A polymer chemist will reply with one to three alternatives, what differs, and what to test before you switch. Free.
Watch Hytrel 5526
Get a short email only if Hytrel 5526 changes owner, is renamed or discontinued, goes on allocation, gets a price increase, or when a matching surplus lot comes in. Free. Add your other grades too.
Buying Hytrel 5526: price, lead time and lot size
- Lot size. From one gaylord to a railcar. See gaylord, LTL and truckload for typical weights per box.
- Where it ships from. 22+ partner warehouse locations. Lead time is confirmed with your quote.
- Price. We do not publish prices because they move with feedstock, freight and order size. What moves your price most: lot size, natural versus black or a custom color, ship-to region, and whether you need Hytrel 5526 itself or can accept a matched alternative. See how resin is priced and the monthly market update.
- Paperwork. Supplier COA on every prime lot (what a COA shows). Ask for the producer’s compliance letters or UL file if your part needs them. Payment terms are confirmed with your quote.
- Trying an alternative? Samples (~50 lb) are available upon credit approval, or start with one gaylord as a trial lot. Custom compounding and color are available.
- If Hytrel 5526 itself is not available. If we cannot source it, we tell you, then quote a matched alternative with a side-by-side comparison.
Send the grade and color, your annual volume and ship-to location. A polymer chemist reviews every request before we quote. For several grades at once, use the resin RFQ template.
Trade names belong to their owners. ResinBridge is not affiliated with these producers; grade names are used only to identify the material. Data reflects published sheets as of November 2026.
Sources
- Celanese Hytrel 5526 data sheet, SI units (Celanese Materials Database, revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Celanese Hytrel 5526 data sheet, US units (Celanese Materials Database, revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Celanese Chemille grade page: Hytrel 5526 (description, standard color, approvals)
- Celanese Hytrel 5526 BK203 data sheet, SI units (revised 2025-04-17, PDF)
- Celanese Chemille grade page: Hytrel 5526 BK203
- Celanese Hytrel 5556 data sheet, SI units (revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Celanese Hytrel 4056 data sheet, SI units (revised 2026-08-12, PDF)
- Envalior Arnitel EL550 property data (printed 2026-10-28, PDF)
- Celanese Hytrel product page (brand owner)
Common questions
What is Hytrel 5526?
Hytrel 5526 is a Celanese thermoplastic polyester elastomer, polyether-ester type (TPC-ET), with a nominal hardness of 55D. It contains a non-discoloring stabilizer, and Celanese specially recommends it for injection molding applications that need high flow. Typical uses on the sheet are seals, packing, gaskets, gears and bearings. It was a DuPont brand until 2022.
What is the melt flow of Hytrel 5526?
MFR 18 g/10 min at 220°C, 2.16 kg (ISO 1133). The SI sheet gives MVR 18 cm³/10 min and the US sheet 17.5 cm³/10 min at the same condition. Hytrel 6356 is measured at 230°C and Hytrel 4056 at 190°C, so do not compare those numbers directly. Typical values; confirm on the current producer data sheet.
What is the hardness of Hytrel 5526?
Celanese lists Shore D 51 on a 15 second reading and 55 as the maximum reading (ISO 48-4 / ISO 868), and calls the nominal hardness 55D. Readings taken at other dwell times, such as the 3 second readings on Arnitel sheets, are not directly comparable.
What is the difference between Hytrel 5526 and Hytrel 5556?
Both are 55D Celanese TPC-ET grades with the same density (1.19 g/cm³) and the same 15 second Shore D reading (51). The big difference is flow: 5526 has MFR 18 g/10 min and 5556 has 7.8 g/10 min, both at 220°C, 2.16 kg. Celanese aims 5526 at high-flow injection molding and 5556 at molding and extrusion such as hose, tubing, wire and cable, film and belting.
What is equivalent to Hytrel 5526?
No grade is a drop-in replacement. The closest grade to ask about is the black version, Hytrel 5526 BK203 (MFR 17 g/10 min at the same condition), which adds black pigment and a UV package. Hytrel 5556 has much lower flow, and Arnitel EL550 reports flow at a different temperature, so neither is listed as an equivalent. Compare data sheets, run a trial and get approval if your part names Hytrel 5526.
Is Hytrel 5526 UL listed or food contact compliant?
The sheet shows UL 94 HB recognition at 1.5 mm and 3 mm, and UL 746B relative thermal indices of 85°C for electrical and impact and 75–80°C for strength. It does not state food contact compliance for this grade; the family text only says food contact grades exist within Hytrel.
How do you dry and mold Hytrel 5526?
Celanese recommends drying at 100°C for 2–3 hours in a dehumidifying dryer to 0.08 % moisture or less. Melt temperature is 220–250°C with a 230°C optimum, and mold temperature 45–55°C. The sheet’s processing table gives a 50°C mold optimum, while its processing note gives 45°C; both sit inside the 45–55°C range. Molding shrinkage on the sheet is 1.4 % in both directions.
Can ResinBridge quote Hytrel 5526?
Yes. Send the grade, color and volume. A polymer chemist reviews every request, and we quote Hytrel 5526 where we can source it, or a matched alternative, and say which one. Orders start at one gaylord; U.S. and Canada only.
If your grade is not listed, tell us what you run. We source commodity, engineering and specialty resins.
Need Hytrel 5526 or an equivalent?
A polymer chemist reviews every request, then matches your grade or finds a matched alternative and prices it.
What to send for an accurate quote
- The grade name, from any supplier, or a data sheet
- Color (natural, black or a custom match)
- Fill type and percentage, if any
- Melt flow, if you know it
- Quantity for this order and what you use in a year
- Ship-to city and state or province
Quote Hytrel 5526 or a matched alternative
A polymer chemist checks the data sheet and tells you exactly what you would get before you order.
Request a QuoteNot sure which grade fits your part?
Send the grade you run now, or describe the part.
